The Committee for Cityhood in East Cobb, Inc. mission is:

1) Educate the public about the benefits of creating a new city.

2) Foster a public dialogue about the pros and cons.

It has commissioned a feasibility study conducted by the Center for State and Local Finance at Georgia State University.

View larger

According to  a map the Committee has already released to the public, the proposed city (population est. 96,000) would fall almost entirely within the Cobb County Commission District 2 boundaries as drawn by the state legislature. The proposed City of East Cobb borders generally fall south of Sandy Plains Road, until it gets closer to the Fulton County line. The southern boundaries would fall roughly along the Powers Ferry Road corridor north of Terrell Mill Road. The western edges of the city would run along Roswell Road, Sewell Road and Holly Springs Road to Post Oak Tritt Road.

A two-year process requires state legislation to call for a referendum that voters in the proposed municipality would decide. Under Georgia law, cities must provide a minimum of three services, and that is what the GSU study addresses — and more.

Read the study

The GSU study is basically written for state legislators. It is not a budget, it is a feasibility study. 

*On Dec. 21 Georgia State University sent our Committee some revisions of its cityhood feasibility study. GSU advised that it it incorporates the correct interpretation of how the TAVT would be distributed to East Cobb. It also has additional references to the base year of 2017 for the property tax analysis. GSU also advised the remainder of the report and its conclusion remains the same.

It develops revenue and expense estimates based on property tax files, a boundary map and estimated business license revenue. The feasibility of municipal services to be studied include police, fire management and community development. (GSU is using a similar methodology as a feasibility study it conducted for Tucker, which became incorporated in 2015.)


  • No tax increase with city formation. No new taxes even though a city resident is a Cobb Countian.
  • Current city boundary is Cobb County Commission District 2 as defined by the state legislature.
  • When the city is chartered, neighborhoods in unincorporated areas could petition to join.
  • The new city begins its first year with a substantial revenue surplus, even with one-time start-up costs. It would be up to the city’s elected representatives how to budget and spend.
  • More local control over local affairs.
  • City government would have an elected mayor, elected Council and appointed city manager.
  • Existing government center can be expanded
  • Students in the city continue to go to Cobb’s highly-rated public schools
  • Better road maintenance
  • Enhanced police coverage & fire protection